Login

September 22, 2024
by Golf Monthly

5 golf rules mistakes that WILL cost you a penalty shot!

Jump to Comments

By: Golf Monthly | Duration: 00:12:09


Video Description

In this video, Neil Tappin is joined by resident rules expert Fergus Bisset to run through the 5 rules mistakes that will cost you a one-shot penalty. These would be classed as relatively minor breaches where it wouldn’t seem like you’re gaining a massive advantage over the field, yet they do still unfortunately incur a penalty under the rules so be sure to watch them all to make sure you don’t have to add any unwanted shots to your scorecard.

► Skip to the section that interests you:
Introduction 0:00-0:35
Replacing your ball 0:36
Slowing down play 3:27
Incorrect drop 5:02
A word from our sponsors 6:48
Moving a ball at rest 8:21
Out of bounds 10:14

► This video is sponsored by Hello Fresh, who have generously provided us with an exclusive offer available for a limited time. Click here http://www.hellofresh.co.uk/UNIQUEGOLFMONTHLY60 to enjoy 60% off your first box, along with 20% off the next two months plus free desserts for life. Alternatively, you can use our code UNIQUEGOLFMONTHLY60. This special offer is available for new customers as well as those who cancelled their subscription twelve months ago or more. For a limited time only*

► Did any of these rules surprise you? Let us know in the comments below! 💬

► Video filmed on location at The London Club. For more information visit the website: https://londongolf.co.uk

► Become a FREE SUBSCRIBER to Golf Monthly’s YouTube page now –https://www.youtube.com/@GolfMonthly

► Watch more on Golf Monthly…
📹 What to do when you lose your golf ball! 👉 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0eBFrrEn48
📹 7 recent rules changes that will save you shots! 👉 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngx63p1yQjw
📹 5 surprisingly vague golf rules! 👉 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUmgzQ2hnr0

🎵 Music – licensed by Epidemic Sound 🎵

► For the latest reviews, new gear launches and tour news, visit our website here – http://www.golfmonthly.com

► Find us on social media:
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/golfmonthly/
TikTok – https://www.tiktok.com/@golfmonthly.com
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/GolfMonthlyMagazine/
Twitter (X) – https://twitter.com/GolfMonthly

11 Comments

  1. @psv998

    there is some dirt on the ball and it falls off while picking up the ball to check for damages. Do you get a one shot penalty even when you put some dirt back on the ball?

    Reply
  2. @robjones5036

    I’ll tell you what’s worse that 3 off the tee, when you paid for YouTube premium so you don’t have to watch adds only to have find yet another YouTuber promoting Hello Fresh! halfway through the video😩 good video still 👍

    Reply
  3. @sydols

    I miss Jez!

    Reply
  4. @Norfolknoel

    11:45 one shot penalty but you are 200+ back from where it’s gone out, so by the time you hit to where it would of been you’ll be hitting 4, that’s why it that bad, should really be 2 off the tee, but I don’t make the rules.

    Reply
  5. @jimiverson3085

    When golf balls stopped using balata covers, cuts on thin shots really stopped happening.

    I don't understand why the high drop incurs a penalty. A low drop actually allows you an easier time optimizing the lie after the drop, so it's not like dropping from and extended arm gains and advantage.

    Reply
  6. @niceandneasy

    Referring to the penalty for accidentally touching the ball in play on the fairway etc. Does the same rule apply when on the green? I thought that if you were not actually playing a stroke, it did not?!

    Reply
  7. @johnparker2957

    Am I correct in thinking that in the first scenario, if there was dirt on the back of your ball, that you can actually rotate it when it’s replaced so you are not hitting the mud?

    Reply
  8. @kanelucas1475

    This video highlights the silliness of the rules of golf.

    Reply
  9. @627K

    What about multiple provisional balls?
    Scenario: Chronic slicer shanks his tee shot towards out of bounds into the woods. He hits an almost identical provisional shot. He hits a second almost identical provisional shot. He walks up to the area and finds only his second provisional ball in bounds. He is hitting his sixth shot, correct?

    Reply
  10. @richardsomebody996

    Question to first situation. What if the ball is damaged? Is there free replacement? What constitutes damage ? Striking a tree or a cart path will have impact but again, is this considered damaged? Of course, all of this goes back to the relief. Thanks

    Reply
Leave a Reply to @Norfolknoel Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

our blog

Related posts

Hull/Ko v. Kim/Choi Highlights | 2025 International Crown
Hull/Ko v. Kim/Choi Highlights | 2025 International Crown

By: LPGA | Duration: 00:12:23 Video Description Welcome to the official YouTube channel of the LPGA Tour. Here you can find everything you need to stay up to date with all of the action featuring some of the world’s best golfers! Check in for highlights from every...

read more
Share This